NextGen Advisory Council

The Conservation Foundation is excited to introduce our first Next Generation Advisory Council. This advisory group is comprised of conservation-minded locals in their 20s and 30s, and we are excited for their fresh new perspective as we find ways to deepen our impact in the communities we serve.

We consider protecting open space, cleaning rivers, and creating habitat for wildlife a forever business and are mindful of the need to cultivate the next generation of stewards to continue this work. This diverse group of 19 individuals ranges from outdoor enthusiasts to conservation professionals. Each understand the urgent environmental challenges facing their generation and all bring a different piece of expertise to the table as we pursue a more sustainable region.

This team hit the ground running helping organize a nature-themed Trivia Night as part of our Earth Month celebrations. They solicited prize donations, advertised the opportunity, and recruited 15 teams to participate in this brand new event. In the end, they helped raise over $2,000 for our organization and brought about 70 new faces to our organization!

We are grateful for their willingness to serve on this inaugural board, and know our communities will be healthier and more resilient for their leadership.

The 2021 NextGen Council members are:

Robb Cleave, South Elgin
Kelsey Galante, Lisle
Krista Glosson, Gilberts
Leigha Green, Naperville
Erik Gullickson, Crystal Lake
Hayley Hawkinson, West Chicago
Rachel Hitzemann, Wheaton
Bob Ijams, Oswego
Eric Izzo, Naperville
Kayla Sue Jacobs, Villa Park
Kristin Kalamatas, Roselle
Scott Kauffman, Yorkville
Thomas Konopka, Naperville
Hanna Lavin, Downers Grove
Kyla Muhammad, Bolingbrook
Josh Nelson, St. Charles
Beth Peluse, Lombard
Alison Sherwood, Naperville
Ryan Solomon, St. Charles

Like this article? Share it!

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest