Events

Loading Events

« All Events

DuPage River Sweep 2020

May 16, 2020 @ 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

COVID-19 Notice

Healthy people and healthy communities are at the heart of The Conservation Foundation’s mission. We are currently monitoring circumstances surrounding COVID-19 and will provide an update on the status of the 2020 DuPage River Sweep soon. Thank you for your understanding.

Social Media PostInfo Pamphlet

The annual DuPage County River Sweep is a county-wide self-coordinated stream cleanup and restoration event. Each year, people from all over the community join us to “sweep our rivers clean” by picking up debris in and along the local waterways and restoring nearby land back to its natural state.

This entire effort would not be possible without our wonderful volunteers who join us year after year to clean and restore our shared waterways. We invite you to join us this year on May 16 from 9am-12pm to get in on the fun. Our natural spaces and waterways depend on our stewardship and protection to remain at their best.

 

 

Restoration Sites

If picking up trash isn’t your bag, you can help communities by restoring natural areas near waterways. Please indicate this preference on your registration. Adult supervision is requested for volunteers under age 18. Participating restoration locations include:

  • Hitchcock Woods – Lisle
  • Hidden Oaks Conservation area – Bolingbrook
  • Various locations – Westmont
  • Kingsley Prairie, bordering McDonald Farm and Kingsley Elementary School – Naperville

Community Liaisons & Group Coordinators

Community Liaisons assist Group Coordinators and their groups in selecting a section of the stream to clean. Supplies and technical support are provided by organizing sponsoring the sweep to help coordinate your efforts. To learn more about being a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator please read the following:

Sweep ResponsibilitiesGroup Coordinator’s Manual

Help us expand the sweep to more locations by volunteering to be a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator in an area not listed below. Contact Jan Roehll for info on how to get started.

Watercraft Training & Rental

Having fun on the water is a priority and learning to do so safely is paramount. Here are some suggested resources for canoe/kayak training from some of our seasoned volunteers:

Prairie State Canoeists (click to visit their website)

  • Intro to Paddling, Canoe & Kayak
  • Moving Water I
  • Moving water II

Geneva Kayak Center (Yorkville) – A variety of classes are available

Looking for a way to sweep the river while maneuvering a canoe or kayak? Here are two sources for rentals:

Geneva Kayak Center

REI – Oakbrook Terrace

Community Liaisons

Ron Remus
Addison
RRemus@addison-il.org
630-620-2020
Joe Potts
Bloomingdale
joe@bloomingdaleparks.org
630-339-3570
Forrest Rackmyer
Bolingbrook
FRackmyer@bolingbrookparks.org
630-910-2305
Greg Ulreich
Carol Stream
gulreich@carolstream.org
630-871-6220
Kerry Behr
Downers Grove
kbehr@downers.us
630-434-5489
Renae Frigo
Glen Ellyn
rfrigo@gepark.org
630-858-2462 ext. 151
Andy Sikich
Hanover Park
asikich@hpil.org
630-823-5650
Molly Garrow
Lisle
engineeringconsultant@villageoflisle.org
630-271-4107
Dave Gorman
Lombard
gorman@villageoflombard.org
630-620-5765
Jan Roehll
Naperville
jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org
630-428-4500 ext. 121
Bonnie Gibellina
Oak Brook
bgibellina@obparks.org
630-645-9544
Craig Ward
Oakbrook Terrace
cward@oakbrookterrace.net
630-941-1651
Robert Wagner
Villa Park
villagegreens1@aol.com
630-279-3499
Ray Ziemer
Warrenville
rgziemer@comcast.net
630-836-0086
Mike Gasparini
West Chicago
mgasparini@we-goparks.org
630-231-9474
Jon Yeater
Westmont
jyeater@westmont.il.gov
630-981-6285
Rob Sperl
Wheaton
rsperl@wheatonparks.org
630-510-4970
Gary Bernard
Winfield
Garybernard101@gmail.com
630-462-6074
Steve Krych
Wood Dale
krychsteve@gmail.com
630-400-0926
Jan Roehll
Other Areas
jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org
630-428-4500 ext. 121

Sponsors and Partners

River Sweep supplies and technical support are provided by these sponsoring organizations and partners:

Details

Date:
May 16, 2020
Time:
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2020-dupage-county-river-sweep-registration-83167128119

Like this Event? Share it!

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest