Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

DuPage River Sweep 2022

May 21, 2022 @ 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

The 31st Annual DuPage River Sweep will be held
Saturday, May 21st, 2022
9:00am – 12:00pm

register now button

The annual DuPage County River Sweep is a county-wide self-coordinated stream cleanup held each spring. The purpose of the one-day River Sweep is to encourage volunteer groups to help “sweep our rivers clean” by picking up debris in and along the local waterways.  Over the past 31 years that this event has taken place, more than 9,000 volunteers have removed nearly 300 tons of garbage from DuPage County streams.  The first River Sweep was held in 1991.  Our Sweep volunteers make a difference right here and right now!

 

Chicagoland Vasavi Association Sweep Team at McDowell Grove, Sweep 2021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We will be practicing social distancing and following all recommended CDC guidelines to keep everyone safe and healthy.

 

How It Works

Community Liaisons and groups select a section of stream and through their own coordination go out and remove litter from the area. Streambank restoration activities, such as removing invasive species and planting native species are available in some areas for those who prefer to keep their feet dry (see below).  Supplies and technical support are provided by organizations sponsoring the Sweep to help you coordinate your efforts.

 

To Register

Downtown Naperville, Sweep 2021

To learn more about being a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator, read our Group Coordinator’s Manual.  Help us expand the Sweep to more locations by volunteering to be a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator in an area not listed below. Contact Jan Roehll for how to get started – it’s simple!

Individual volunteers may request being assigned to a group or may work independently in an area of their choosing.  Community Liaisons are available to assist individual volunteers the day of the Sweep as well. To learn more read our Group Coordinator’s manual highlighted above. To get started, view this year’s Sweep Brochure.

 

register now button

 

The following towns have Liaison Contacts for you:

Addison
Ron Remus
rremus@addison-il.org
630-620-2020
Bloomingdale
Joe Potts
joe@bloomingdaleparks.org
630-339-3570
Bolingbrook
Daniel Finn
dfinn@bolingbrookparks.org
630-783-6563
Carol Stream
Greg Ulreich
gulreich@carolstream.org
630-871-6220
Downers Grove
Julie Lomax
jlomax@downers.us
630-493-8821
Glen Ellyn
Renae Frigo
rfrigo@gepark.org
630-858-6037, Ext. 6006
Itasca
Mike Subers
msubers@itasca.org
630-773-2455
Lisle
Rich Gallas
rgallas@villageoflisle.org
630-271-4107
Lombard
Dave Gorman
gormand@villageoflombard.org
630-620-5765
Naperville
Jan Roehll
jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org
630-428-4500 Ext. 121
Oak Brook
Bonnie Gibellina
bgibellina@obparks.org
630-645-9544
Oakbrook Terrace
Craig Ward
cward@oakbrookterrace.net
630-941-1651
Warrenville
Ray Ziemer
rgziemer@comcast.net
630-836-0086
West Chicago
Mike Gasparini
mgasparini@we-goparks.org
630-231-9474
Westmont
Mike Ramsey
mramsey@westmont.il.gov
630-981-6289
Wheaton
Kevin Flynn
kflynn@wheatonparks.org
630-510-4981
Winfield
Gary Bernard
winfieldriverwalk@gmail.com
630-462-6074
Wood Dale
Steve Krych
krychsteve@gmail.com
630-400-0926
All other areas
Jan Roehll
jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org
630-428-4500 Ext. 121

 

Restoration Sites

If picking up trash isn’t your bag, help communities by restoring natural areas near waterways.

Please indicate this preference on your registration. Adult supervision is requested for volunteers under Age 18.

Participating restoration locations include:
Hitchcock Woods Forest Preserve – Lisle

Village of Bolingbrook – Various Locations

Village of Westmont – Various Location

 

Promote the Sweep In Your Community

Share this flyer widely to help spread the word in your community!
DuPage River Sweep 2022 Flyer

Share this webpage URL: www.theconservationfoundation.org/sweep

 

Watercraft Training & Rental

Having fun on the water is a priority and learning to do so safely is paramount. Here are some suggested resources for canoe/kayak training from some of our seasoned volunteers:

Prairie State Canoeists

Geneva Kayak Center

 

Looking for a way to sweep the river while maneuvering a canoe? Here are two sources for rentals:
REI – Oakbrook Terrace
Geneva Kayak Center

 

Sponsors & Partners

River Sweep supplies and technical support are generously provided by these sponsoring organizations and partners:

                

     

         Gerald Subaru logo

 

Engineering Resource Associates Sweep Team, 2021

 

The following municipalities issued proclamations supporting the annual DuPage River Sweep:
Village of Bloomingdale
Village of Itasca
Village of Lisle
Village of Lombard
Village of Roselle
City of Warrenville
City of Wheaton
Village of Willowbrook
York Township

 

Details

Date:
May 21, 2022
Time:
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , ,

Like this Event? Share it!

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest