Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

DuPage River Sweep 2021

May 15, 2021 @ 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

The 30th Anniversary DuPage River Sweep will be held
Saturday, May 15th, 2021
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Volunteer registration for the 2021 Sweep is now CLOSED!

Thanks so much to all who have signed up to volunteer.

If you see people in and along the DuPage River and its tributaries on Saturday,
give them a honk of encouragement!

They are carrying on a 30-year tradition of coming together to clean up our rivers and streams.

___________________________________________________________________

The annual DuPage County River Sweep is a county-wide self-coordinated stream cleanup held each spring. The purpose of the one-day river sweep is to encourage volunteer groups to help “sweep our rivers clean” by picking up debris in and along the local waterways.  Over the past 30 years that this event has taken place, more than 9,000 volunteers have removed nearly 300 tons of garbage from DuPage County streams.  The first River Sweep was held in 1991!

We will be practicing social distancing and following all recommended CDC guidelines to keep everyone safe and healthy.  Our Sweep volunteers make a difference right here and right now.

How It Works

Community Liaisons and groups select a section of stream and through their own coordination go out and remove litter from the area. Streambank restoration activities, such as removing invasive species and planting native species are available in some areas for those who prefer to keep their feet dry (see below).  Supplies and technical support are provided by organizations sponsoring the Sweep to help you coordinate your efforts.

To Register

To learn more about being a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator, read our Group Coordinator’s Manual.  Help us expand the Sweep to more locations by volunteering to be a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator in an area not listed below. Contact Jan Roehll for how to get started – It’s simple!

Individual volunteers may request being assigned to a group or may work independently in an area of their choosing.  Community Liaisons are available to assist individual volunteers the day of the Sweep as well. To learn more read our Group Coordinator’s manual highlighted above. To get started, view this year’s Sweep Flyer.

 

Pre-registration is required and registration is now closed.  We hope you will join us in 2022!

 

 

The following towns have Liaison Contacts for you:

Addison
Ron Remus
rremus@addison-il.org
630-620-2020
Bloomingdale
Joe Potts
joe@bloomingdaleparks.org
630-339-3570
Bolingbrook
Daniel Flinn
dflinn@bolingbrookparks.org
630-783-6570
Carol Stream
Greg Ulreich
gulreich@carolstream.org
630-871-6220
Downers Grove
Kerry Behr
kbehr@downers.us
630-434-5489
Glen Ellyn
Renae Frigo
rfrigo@gepark.org
630-858-6037, Ext. 6006
Hanover Park
T.J. Moore
tmoore@hpil.org
630-823-7500
Itasca
Mike Subers
msubers@itasca.com
630-773-2455
Lisle
Molly Garrow
engineeringconsultant@villageoflisle.org
630-271-4107
Lombard
Dave Gorman
gormand@villageoflombard.org
630-620-5765
Naperville
Jan Roehll
jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org
630-428-4500 Ext. 121
Oak Brook
Bonnie Gibellina
bgibellina@obparks.org
630-645-9544
Oakbrook Terrace
Craig Ward
cward@oakbrookterrace.net
630-941-1651
Plainfield
Jonathan Proulx
jproulx@goplainfield.com
815-609-6139
Villa Park
Robert Wagner
villagegreens1@aol.com
630-279-3499
Warrenville
Ray Ziemer
rgziemer@comcast.net
630-836-0086
West Chicago Park District
Mike Gasparini
mgasparini@we-goparks.org
630-231-9474
Westmont
Jon Yeater
jyeater@westmont.il.gov
630-981-6285
Wheaton
Rob Sperl
rsperl@wheatonparks.org
630-510-4970
Winfield
Gary Bernard
garybernard101@gmail.com
630-462-6074
Wood Dale
Steve Krych
krychsteve@gmail.com
630-400-0926
All other areas
Jan Roehll
jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org
630-428-4500 Ext. 121

Restoration Sites

If picking up trash isn’t your bag, help communities by restoring natural areas near waterways.

Please indicate this preference on your registration.  Adult supervision is requested for volunteers under Age 18.

Participating restoration locations include:
Hitchcock Woods Forest Preserve – Lisle

Hidden Oaks Conservation Area – Bolingbrook (park at Hidden Lakes Trout Farm)

Village of Westmont – Various Locations

Promote the Sweep In Your Community

Share this flyer widely to help spread the word in your community!
DuPage River Sweep 2021 Flyer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this webpage URL: www.theconservationfoundation.org/sweep

Watercraft Training & Rental

Having fun on the water is a priority and learning to do so safely is paramount. Here are some suggested resources for canoe/kayak training from some of our seasoned volunteers:

Prairie State Canoeists

Geneva Kayak Center

Looking for a way to sweep the river while maneuvering a canoe? Here are two sources for rentals:
REI – Oakbrook Terrace
Geneva Kayak Center.

Sponsors & Partners

River Sweep supplies and technical support are generously provided by these sponsoring organizations and partners:

                

     

   

The following municipalities issued proclamations supporting the annual DuPage River Sweep:
Village of Bloomingdale
Village of Itasca
Village of Lisle
Village of Lombard
Village of Roselle
City of Warrenville
City of Wheaton
Village of Willowbrook
York Township

 

Details

Date:
May 15, 2021
Time:
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , , ,

Like this Event? Share it!

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest