2015 Pierotti Scholarships Winners Announced

Congratulations to Makenna Anderson of St. Charles and Joshua Cinnamon of Naperville for being awarded the 2015 Paul D. Pierotti Memorial Scholarships!

Makenna is a graduate of St. Charles East High School and has been an animal care volunteer at the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County’s Willowbrook Wildlife Center in Glen Ellyn for nine years. She is a member of the National Honors Society. Makenna’s plans are to study marine biology, freshwater ecology, and environmental sciences.

Josh is a graduate of  Neuqua Valley High School and has worked as a volunteer at The Conservation Foundation’s McDonald Farm in Naperville.  He completed his Eagle Scout project building five picnic tables for use at the Farm, and donated the extra money he raised for the project to The Conservation Foundation.  Josh is also doing an internship with us this summer, and will be studying environmental science/geology at Iowa State University.

These two remarkable young adults were presented their scholarships at a June 4th luncheon.

The Paul D. Pierotti Memorial Scholarship was established in 2006 by former Forest Preserve District of DuPage County President D. “Dewey” Pierotti, Jr. and his wife Leslie, in memory of their late son Paul. 

Applicants must have an interest in working in the environmental field and be associated with the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County or The Conservation Foundation. The scholarships are awarded to students from DuPage, Kane, Kendall, or Will counties and the funds are administered through the DuPage Foundation. 


Like this article? Share it!

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest