DuPage River Sweep
DuPage River Sweep

 

The annual DuPage County River Sweep is a county-wide self-coordinated stream cleanup and restoration event.  The purpose of the river sweep is to encourage volunteers to help "sweep our rivers clean" by picking up debris in and along the local waterways and restoring nearby land back to its natural state.

Adventures for Adventurous People Sweep Team at Churchill Woods

More than 11,700 volunteers have removed nearly 261 tons of garbage from DuPage County streams since 1991. The Sweep encompasses the East and West Branches of the DuPage River and Salt Creek, as well as many tributaries.  In 2016 a record was set by 890 amazing volunteers.

Details on the 2017 DuPage River Sweep

 

 

Be part of this record-setting tradition! 
Saturday, May 19, 2018
9:00 am to Noon

 

 

 

 

On the 25th anniversary of the River Sweep in 2016, a record 890 volunteers participated in the clean-up and restoration efforts. In 2016 over 96 miles of shoreline was cleared of debris. Items such as a 55-gallon drum of antifreeze, 25 lbs. of golf balls, a payphone, car parts, tires a 25-gallon propane tank car bumper, about 40 golf balls, a tricycle, a no-parking sign, a shopping cart and more were removed.

We would love to have you join us for the 2018 DuPage River Sweep!

To Register

Community Liaisons assist Group Coordinators and their groups with selecting a section of stream.   Through their own coordination litter may be removed from the area or restoration is available in select locations (see below). Supplies and technical support are provided by organizations sponsoring the Sweep to help you coordinate your efforts. To learn more about being a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator, read Sweep Responsibilities and our Group Coordinator's Manual. Help us expand the Sweep to more locations by volunteering to be a Community Liaison or Group Coordinator in an area not listed below. Contact Jan Roehll for how to get started. It's simple. 

Individual volunteers may request being assigned to a group or may work independently in an area of their choosing.  Community Liaisons are available to assist individual volunteers the day of the Sweep as well.  To learn more read our Group Coordinator's manual highlighted above.

 Pre-registration is required for Sweep participation, and will open online in early 2018.

 

 

Restoration for the "Young-ins" with Community Liaison Al Zubenko at Hitchcock Woods


Restoration Sites

If picking up trash isn't your bag, help communities by restoring natural areas near waterways.


Please indicate this preference on your registration.  Adult supervision is requested for volunteers under age 18.

Participating locations include (Below is a list of locations for 2017):

Hitchcock Woods Forest Preserve - Lisle 

Hidden Oaks Conservation Area - Bolingbrook (park at Hidden Lakes Trout Farm)

Springbrook Nature Center - Itasca

Winfield Mounds Forest Preserve - Winfield

 

 

 

Community Liaison Contacts (More communities may be added prior to the Sweep)
The following communities have liaison contacts for you (see 2017 River Sweep Brochure before contacting):

Addison Ron Remus RRemus@addison-il.org 630-620-2020

Bloomingdale

Joe Potts

joe@bloomingdaleparks.org 


630-529-7233

Bolingbrook

Chris Hanley

chanley@bolingbrookparks.org

630-910-2305

Carol Stream

Donna Hawco

dhawco@carolstream.org 

630-871-6220

Downers Grove

Dan Carlsen dcarlsen@downers.us

630-434-6811

Glen Ellyn

Renae Frigo

rfrigo@gepark.org

630-858-2462 x151

Hanover Park Karen Daulton Lange kdaultonlange@hpil.org 630-823-5650

Itasca

Fred Maier

fmaier@itasca.com

630-228-5652

Lisle

Marilyn Sucoe

msucoe@villageoflisle.org

630-271-4107

Lombard

Dave Gorman

Gormand@villageoflombard.org 

630-620-5765

Naperville

Jan Roehll

jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org

630-428-4500
Ext. 121

Oak Brook

Bonnie Gibellina

bgibellina@obparks.org

630-645-9544

Oakbrook Terrace Craig Ward cward@oakbrookterrace.net 630-941-1651

Plainfield

Jonathan Proulx

Jproulx@goplainfield.com 

815-609-6139

Villa Park

Robert Wagner

Villagegreens1@aol.com 

630-279-3499

Warrenville

Ray Ziemer

rgziemer@comcast.net 

630-836-0086

West Chicago Park District   Jesse Felix jfelix@we-goparks.org 630-231-2352

Westmont

Jon Yeater

jyeater@westmont.il.gov 

630-981-6285

Wheaton

Rob Sperl

 rsperl@wheatonparks.org 

630-510-4970

Winfield

Gary Bernard

winfieldriverwalk@gmail.com

630-462-6074

Wood Dale Steve Krych krychsteve@gmail.com 630-400-0926

All other areas

Jan Roehll

jroehll@theconservationfoundation.org 

630-428-4500
Ext. 121

 
 
 

 

Community Liaison Gary Bernard (far right)
with his Sweep group in Winfield.

Promote the Sweep In Your Community

Use these promotional materials to help spread the word:

DuPage River Sweep Brochure

DuPage River Sweep Poster (8.5 x 11)

 

Watercraft Training & Rental  
Having fun on the water is a priority and learning to do so safely is paramount. Here are
some suggested resources for canoe/kayak training from some of our seasoned volunteers:

Prairie State Canoeists (Click here to visit website for dates):

  • Intro to Paddling, Canoe & Kayak
  • Moving Water I
  • Moving Water II

Geneva Kayak Center (Yorkville) - A variety of classes also available.

Looking for a way to sweep the river while maneuvering a canoe or kayak? Here are two sources for rentals: 
REI - Oakbrook Terrace  
Geneva Kayak Center (Yorkville)

Sponsors & Partners
River Sweep supplies and technical support are provided by these sponsoring organizations and partners :

       

 

 

The following municipalities, over the years, have issued proclamations supporting the Sweep:
Village of Bloomingdale
Village of Itasca
Village of Lisle
Village of Lombard
Village of Roselle
Village of Willowbrook
City of Warrenville
City of Wheaton
York Township

 
Click here for t
he 2016 River Sweep results.